PRC Club Championship 2012

Last Thursday evening Pickering Running Club held their annual club championships in Dalby Forest.   The 10K course had dried out well after the morning’s rain but conditions were very cold (allegedly the coldest August temperature since records began).   Both men’s and women’s races were gripping affairs and many of the 28 entrants produced top performances.

The leading men gathered in two clusters during the early stages, Sam Holtby, Nick Cousins and Jayson Cavill leading a group of 7 with Steve Watson and Andy Harvey leading a group of 4 close behind.   Positions changed frequently in the most competitive club championship race for many years.  In the middle section of the race, Martin Connell and Steve Watson moved through to exert their authority on the leading group and Richard Todd also came through strongly. 

Class told in the final third of the race as Jayson Cavill moved away to claim victory in a time of 41:22.  Watson powered through to win the veteran’s competition in 44:05, with the finish coming too soon for last year’s veteran champion, Connell (44:11) who was trying to mount a final challenge. 

The super-veterans trophy has been the sole preserve of elder statesmen Mike Wilson and Mike Hetherton for the past 4 years.  Both men used their experience to stay in the leading group through the early stages of the race, letting the younger men set the pace for them.  It was the older man Hetherton (45:20) who proved the stronger this year triumphing by just a minute, and therefore regaining the trophy from Wilson (46:23).

Nick Cousins (44:27) ran really well and was prominent throughout the race.  He will surely be classed as a super veteran next year and will be one to watch.  Andy Mitchell (44:31) continues to adapt well to off-road racing and looked strong.  Sam Holtby (45:12) showed great speed early on and easily ran his best race in a Pickering vest. 

Richard Todd (45:47) and Simon Ridley were always close to the main action, with new club member Ridley (47:10) just losing out to Andy Harvey (46:41) in the latter stages.  Mark Chappell (50:29), Steve Hampshire (51:08) and Dave Simpson (53:18) all produced good times.

Pre-race betting for the ladies race focussed on three strong candidates, reigning champion Kim England, reigning veteran Lorraine Laycock and young pretender Lynn Humpleby who has been training hard for this year’s Yorkshireman Marathon in September. 

England was prominent in the early stages but Laycock came through to set the ladies pace over the first 3 kilometres with Humpleby never far away.  Humpleby and England were stronger in the middle part of the course and the pair raced grittily in the final stages.  Humpleby saw her chance for glory and gave it absolutely everything to win in a time of 46:45.  Defending champ England (47:23) was gracious in defeat and will be spurred on to greater efforts next year.  A slightly off-colour Laycock put in her usual strong effort to claim the veteran’s crown in a time of 49:15.

Tess Roebuck ran gamely for a time of 51:08.  Sarah Sissons gave her all as ever to finish in 54:51.  Cath Watson (56:22) made her first racing appearance since an early summer marathon.  Rebecca Bruce (62:10) made her first UK racing appearance and Kate Youngs (66:18) ran despite a cold.

There were again great performances from a clutch of graduates from the recent Beginners Course.  Stephanie Fahey and Serena Partridge were locked together at the line and both clocked 66:26.  Sally Raines (67:45), Ailish Lilley (69:02) and Kirsty Taylor (69:19) all enjoyed their trail racing experience.  Angela Woodford completed the course in her own sweet time of 84:10.  Woodford received the new special prize for her incessant enthusiasm and ever-present inspirational smile.

Many thanks to Leading Edge Authors for providing timings and race results.

Report Type: 
Press Release
Report Date: 
Wed 05 Sep 2012 (All day)


Kim.E's picture

Fab report Andy.

If only we got as much room as the flaming football and cricket : (